The picks
Coding Toys for Tweens
Ten is the age card-based robots stop working. What replaces them publishes a real language, a real build, or a real difficulty curve.
By Sawyer V. · Published
The short answer
At ten, buy on the published ceiling rather than the age on the box. Makeblock publishes the mBot Neo with blocks, Python and Arduino C on one robot, and the mBot Ranger as about 100 parts that build three machines. For a screen-free option, ThinkFun publishes Code Master with 60 levels.
Block & Beaker earns a commission when you buy through our links, at no cost to you. It never changes a ranking, and we say so plainly when the right answer is the cheaper set, or nothing at all. Full disclosure · How we pick.

At a glance
The picks, ranked
Tap any row to jump to the full reasoning. Prices come live from Amazon where we have them and read “check price” where we don’t — never a number we cannot stand behind today.
| # | Product | Best for | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() Best overall for a tween Makeblock mBot Neo (mBot2) Scratch-style blocks, Python and Arduino C on one 240 MHz robot, with 60+ add-on modules. | Ten to thirteen, heading toward a real language | |
| 2 | ![]() Best if they want to build it Makeblock mBot Ranger About 100 parts that build a robot tank, a self-balancing robot or a racing car, programmed from blocks to Arduino. | Ten and up, for a child who likes assembly | |
| 3 | ![]() Best screen-free option ThinkFun Code Master 60 levels from beginner to expert, single player, no batteries and no screen. | Eight and up, for logic without a device | |
| 4 | ![]() Best for inventing rather than coding littleBits Invention Kit 29 Bits with proximity, temperature, light and sound sensors driving a servo and two DC motors. | Grades 2-7 | |
| — | ![]() Too young by now Botley 2.0 The Coding Robot Activity Set Still sold as the coding robot, and its ceiling is 150 button-entered steps. | Five to eight |
5 picks, including 1 we tell you to skip. Ages shown are the manufacturer’s own rating, not ours.
What changes at ten
Up to about nine, a coding toy’s job is to make sequencing physical: cards, blocks, a robot that drives across a mat. By ten most children have that idea, and a toy that only does that is finished in a week.
What works instead publishes one of three things: a real language, a real build, or a difficulty curve that keeps going.
The arithmetic
Published ceilings, by product
| mBot Neo | Blocks, Python and Arduino C · 60+ modules · 8+ |
|---|---|
| mBot Ranger | 3 build forms, about 100 parts · blocks to Arduino |
| Code Master | 60 levels, conditionals and loops · no screen · 8+ |
| littleBits Invention Kit | 29 Bits, 4 sensors, 2 motors · grades 2-7 |
| Botley 2.0 | 150 button-entered steps · 5+ |
If school uses Scratch
Both Makeblock robots publish Scratch-style block programming in mBlock, so a child who uses Scratch at school starts on familiar ground and moves to Python on the same hardware. That continuity is worth more than any single feature.
Screen-free still exists at this age
If the household is holding screens back, Code Master is the pick: 60 published levels, single player, and the concepts — sequence, branching, repetition — are the real ones. It is a game rather than a robot, and a tween can play it alone.
Worth knowing before you buy
Both Makeblock robots use rechargeable cells. Charge with the supplied cable, do not leave a robot charging unattended overnight, and do not open the pack.
What the mBot Neo controller actually is
Makeblock publishes the CyberPi controller as an Xtensa 32-bit LX6 dual-core running at 240 MHz with 8 MB of flash and 8 MB of PSRAM. That is a real microcontroller, and it is why this robot does not become a toy in a cupboard after a term.
The published programming path is three deep: Scratch-style blocks, Python in mBlock, and Arduino C/C++ through the Arduino IDE. A ten-year-old starts on blocks and a fourteen-year-old is writing C on the same hardware, with no second purchase.
Makeblock also publishes on-board light, microphone, gyroscope and accelerometer sensors, plus ultrasonic, quad RGB, temperature and IR modules, 60+ compatible modules with up to 10 connected at once, and 8 motor and servo ports. The battery is a built-in 2500 mAh LiPo — about an hour to charge, about five hours of play.
Ranger or Neo, on the published specifications
The mBot Ranger publishes three build forms — a robot tank, a self-balancing robot and a racing car — from about 100 parts, with 10 expansion ports, full compatibility with 500+ Makeblock parts, LEGO bricks and Arduino, and mBlock offering both visual and text-based programming.
One honest note on its age rating: Makeblock’s own site publishes 8+, while the Amazon listing title says ages 10+. We report both rather than pick the convenient one. Makeblock does not publish a battery requirement on the pages we could read.
The split is simple. Ranger is for a tween who wants to build the machine and rebuild it twice. Neo is for a tween who wants to program it and keep programming it for years.
Screen time, stated honestly
Two of these publish themselves as screen-free. ThinkFun publishes Code Master as 60 levels from beginner to expert, single player, with no batteries — a map-based programming-logic game where the moves are sequenced to collect power crystals. Sphero publishes the littleBits Electronics Inventor Kit as screen-free with 29 Bits: 2 power, 7 wire, 12 input and 8 output.
The robots are the other way round. mBot Neo is programmed in mBlock — blocks, Python or Arduino C/C++ — and mBot Ranger publishes mBlock with both visual and text-based programming. The screen is not an add-on there; it is where the coding happens.
So the honest framing for a tween is not screen versus no screen, it is what the screen is being used for. An hour in mBlock making a robot avoid a wall with an ultrasonic sensor is not the same hour as an hour of video, and pretending otherwise usually ends with the robot unused.
So which one
Wants to program: the mBot Neo.
Wants to build: the mBot Ranger.
No screens: Code Master.
Say the unwelcome thing
Do not buy a card-based robot at ten
The 4+ and 5+ robots are excellent for the ages they publish. Bought for a ten-year-old they are finished in an afternoon, and the child concludes that coding toys are for little kids.
Where to go next
Robot kits for teens is the next rung up, and from coding toy to real code maps the whole ladder. By age: STEM toys for 11 year olds.
In full
Every pick, and what is wrong with it
Published specifications only, each linked back to the page it came from. Where a manufacturer publishes nothing, the row says so — we do not fill blanks in.

1. Best overall for a tween
Makeblock mBot Neo (mBot2)
Makeblock · mBot2 · maker rates it 8+
Scratch-style blocks, Python and Arduino C on one 240 MHz robot, with 60+ add-on modules.
- Controller
- CyberPi — Xtensa 32-bit LX6 dual-core at 240 MHz, 8 MB flash, 8 MB PSRAM
- Programming
- Scratch-style blocks, Python in mBlock, and Arduino C/C++ via the Arduino IDE
- Sensors
- On-board light, microphone, gyroscope and accelerometer, plus ultrasonic, quad RGB, temperature and IR modules
- Battery
- Built-in 2500 mAh LiPo, about 1 hour to charge, about 5 hours of play
Makeblock publishes the CyberPi controller — Xtensa 32-bit LX6 dual-core at 240 MHz, 8 MB flash, 8 MB PSRAM — programmable in Scratch-style blocks, Python in mBlock and Arduino C/C++, with on-board light, microphone, gyroscope and accelerometer sensors, a 2500 mAh battery giving about five hours of play, and 60+ compatible modules, rated 8+.
The published ladder is the point at this age. A ten-year-old starts in blocks because it is quick, and the same robot still works when they type Python at twelve.
Replay signal
- Open-ended or one-shot
- Open-ended at the top of the range — this is the one a child does not outgrow at eleven
- Does anything run out
- Nothing runs out; rechargeable
- Room to grow
- Blocks, then Python, then Arduino C on the same robot, with 60+ add-on modules
- Adult required
- Not for driving it. Probably for the first Python session
Why we say so: Makeblock publishes the processor, the three programming environments on one robot, the 2500 mAh battery figures and the 60+ compatible modules. Blocks-to-Python-to-C on one chassis is the published upgrade path, and it is why this survives the year a child gets bored of pressing buttons.
What’s wrong with it
A fixed chassis: the child programs the robot rather than designing it.
| Controller | CyberPi — Xtensa 32-bit LX6 dual-core at 240 MHz, 8 MB flash, 8 MB PSRAM |
|---|---|
| Programming | Scratch-style blocks, Python in mBlock, and Arduino C/C++ via the Arduino IDE |
| Sensors | On-board light, microphone, gyroscope and accelerometer, plus ultrasonic, quad RGB, temperature and IR modules |
| Battery | Built-in 2500 mAh LiPo, about 1 hour to charge, about 5 hours of play |
| Expansion | 60+ compatible modules, up to 10 connected at once, 8 motor and servo ports |
| Stated age | Ages 8+ |
Every figure above is from Makeblock, mBot2 coding robot kit. Blanks are shown as “not published” rather than filled in.

2. Best if they want to build it
Makeblock mBot Ranger
Makeblock · mBot Ranger · maker rates it 8+
About 100 parts that build a robot tank, a self-balancing robot or a racing car, programmed from blocks to Arduino.
- Build forms
- 3 — a robot tank, a self-balancing robot and a racing car
- Parts
- “about 100 parts”
- Expansion
- 10 expansion ports
- Compatibility
- “fully compatible with 500+ Makeblock parts, LEGO bricks, and supports Arduino”
Makeblock publishes three build forms from “about 100 parts”, 10 expansion ports, compatibility with “500+ Makeblock parts, LEGO bricks”, and mBlock programming “offering both visual and text-based programming”. Makeblock’s site lists Age 8+; the Amazon listing title says Ages 10+.
Building the machine before programming it is the difference between a robot a tween owns and a robot a tween understands.
Replay signal
- Open-ended or one-shot
- Three published builds, then a kit compatible with 500+ Makeblock parts and LEGO bricks
- Does anything run out
- Nothing runs out apart from batteries
- Room to grow
- Block coding first, then Arduino in the same mBlock software, on the same robot
- Adult required
- For the first build at the young end of the range — about 100 parts is a real assembly job
Why we say so: Makeblock publishes three build forms from about 100 parts, 10 expansion ports and compatibility with 500+ Makeblock parts and LEGO bricks, programmed in mBlock from blocks to Arduino. Building the robot before programming it is the published design, and it is what makes this a robot kit rather than a coding robot.
What’s wrong with it
A real assembly job, and the battery type is not stated on the Makeblock pages we could read.
| Build forms | 3 — a robot tank, a self-balancing robot and a racing car |
|---|---|
| Parts | “about 100 parts” |
| Expansion | 10 expansion ports |
| Compatibility | “fully compatible with 500+ Makeblock parts, LEGO bricks, and supports Arduino” |
| Programming | mBlock, “offering both visual and text-based programming” — blocks up to Arduino |
| Sensors named | Infrared, light and line-following (Makeblock's launch post) |
| Control | Makeblock remote-control app |
| Stated age | Age 8+ on Makeblock's site; the Amazon listing title says Ages 10+ |
| Batteries | Not stated on the Makeblock pages we could read |
Every figure above is from Makeblock, mBot Ranger robot building kit. Blanks are shown as “not published” rather than filled in.

3. Best screen-free option
ThinkFun Code Master
ThinkFun · 1950 · maker rates it 8+
60 levels from beginner to expert, single player, no batteries and no screen.
- Levels
- 60, beginner to expert
- Players
- 1
- Format
- Map-based programming logic — sequence the avatar's moves to collect power crystals
- Batteries
- None
ThinkFun publishes 60 levels from beginner to expert in a map-and-sequence format where the avatar collects power crystals, single player, no batteries, rated 8 and up. The later levels introduce conditionals and loops.
Branching and repetition are the two ideas that make a real program. Meeting them on paper at ten makes the first screen session much shorter.
Replay signal
- Open-ended or one-shot
- Finite — 60 levels, and they are worked through in order
- Does anything run out
- Nothing runs out, but the level book does end
- Room to grow
- The later levels introduce conditionals and loops, so the concept ladder is real rather than cosmetic
Why we say so: ThinkFun publishes 60 levels from beginner to expert and a map-and-sequence format. The concepts the later levels introduce — branching and repetition — are the same two ideas that make a real program, which is why this works as preparation for a screen rather than as a substitute for one.
What’s wrong with it
Sixty levels is a real end, and nothing physically moves.
| Levels | 60, beginner to expert |
|---|---|
| Players | 1 |
| Format | Map-based programming logic — sequence the avatar's moves to collect power crystals |
| Batteries | None |
| Stated age | Ages 8 and up |
Every figure above is from ThinkFun, Code Master. Blanks are shown as “not published” rather than filled in.

4. Best for inventing rather than coding
littleBits Invention Kit
Sphero · Invention Kit · maker rates it Grades 2-7
29 Bits with proximity, temperature, light and sound sensors driving a servo and two DC motors.
- Bits
- 29 in total — 2 power, 7 wire, 12 input and 8 output Bits
- Inputs
- Toggle switch, 2 buttons, 2 slide dimmers, remote trigger, pulse, threshold, and proximity, temperature, light and sound sensors
- Outputs
- LED, buzzer, bargraph, servo, RGB LED, number display, 2 DC motors
- Power
- 1 x 9V battery; a USB power Bit is also included
Sphero publishes 29 Bits — 2 power, 7 wire, 12 input and 8 output — published as screen-free, on one 9V battery plus a USB power Bit, for grades 2-7.
For the tween whose interest is gadgets rather than code, this is the better purchase, and it needs no computer at all.
Replay signal
- Open-ended or one-shot
- Open-ended — any input can drive any output, so the gadget is the child's design
- Does anything run out
- Nothing runs out apart from the 9V battery
- Room to grow
- Twelve inputs and eight outputs is enough to build working gadgets rather than demonstrations
Why we say so: Sphero publishes 29 Bits including proximity, temperature, light and sound sensors, a servo and two DC motors, run from a 9V battery and published as screen-free. Real sensors driving real motors is what separates an invention kit from a circuit tutorial.
What’s wrong with it
A 9V battery, and only 10 challenge cards in the box.
| Bits | 29 in total — 2 power, 7 wire, 12 input and 8 output Bits |
|---|---|
| Inputs | Toggle switch, 2 buttons, 2 slide dimmers, remote trigger, pulse, threshold, and proximity, temperature, light and sound sensors |
| Outputs | LED, buzzer, bargraph, servo, RGB LED, number display, 2 DC motors |
| Power | 1 x 9V battery; a USB power Bit is also included |
| Screen | Published as screen-free |
| Challenges | 10 challenge cards, with further lessons via Sphero Central |
| Stated grade | Grades 2-7 |
Every figure above is from Sphero, littleBits Invention Kit. Blanks are shown as “not published” rather than filled in.

Skip this one
Botley 2.0 The Coding Robot Activity Set
Learning Resources · LER2938 · maker rates it 5+
Still sold as the coding robot, and its ceiling is 150 button-entered steps.
- Set size
- 78 pieces
- Contents
- Botley 2.0, remote programmer, 2 face plates, 40 coding cards, 6 double-sided boards, 27 obstacle pieces, starter guide
- Maximum program length
- “coding sequences of up to 150 steps”
- Movement
- Six directions, plus 16 coded interactions
Learning Resources publishes Botley 2.0 at 5+ with sequences of up to 150 steps and 100% screen-free play.
It is the best robot on this site at five. At ten it is a toy a child has already outgrown before the box is open — buy the one with a language in it.
Replay signal
- Open-ended or one-shot
- Open-ended once the cards are understood — the child builds the maze, not just the program
- Does anything run out
- Nothing runs out except batteries
- Room to grow
- A 150-step ceiling means the challenge scales for years past the first week
- Adult required
- Needed for the first session, then not — there is no app account and nothing to log into
Why we say so: Learning Resources publishes the 78-piece contents, the 150-step maximum sequence, the six directions and 16 interactions, and states the set is 100% screen-free with no tablet or app required.
What’s wrong with it
A 5+ rating and a remote, three to five years below this page.
| Set size | 78 pieces |
|---|---|
| Contents | Botley 2.0, remote programmer, 2 face plates, 40 coding cards, 6 double-sided boards, 27 obstacle pieces, starter guide |
| Maximum program length | “coding sequences of up to 150 steps” |
| Movement | Six directions, plus 16 coded interactions |
| Screen required | None — “100% screen-free play” |
| Batteries | “Requires 5 AAA batteries (not included)” |
| Stated age | 5+ (K-2nd grade) |
Every figure above is from Learning Resources, Botley 2.0 Activity Set. Blanks are shown as “not published” rather than filled in.
We are not putting a buy button on this one. It is easy enough to find if you want it anyway — but we would rather send you to something that gets played with twice.
Questions people actually ask
Frequently asked
What is a good coding toy for a 10 year old?
One with a published path into a real language. Makeblock publishes the mBot Neo with Scratch-style blocks, Python and Arduino C on the same robot, rated 8+, with a 2500 mAh rechargeable battery and 60+ add-on modules.
Are coding robots still worth it at 12?
Only the ones that publish somewhere to go. A robot whose ceiling is a fixed number of button presses is finished quickly at twelve; the mBot Neo publishes Python and Arduino C, and the mBot Ranger publishes three builds and LEGO compatibility. Robot kits for teens.
Is there a screen-free coding toy for tweens?
Yes. ThinkFun publishes Code Master with 60 levels from beginner to expert, single player, no batteries and no screen, rated 8 and up, with conditionals and loops in the later levels.
Should a tween start with Scratch or a robot?
They are not exclusive: both Makeblock robots publish Scratch-style block coding in mBlock, so a child already using Scratch at school can program hardware with what they know, then move to Python on the same robot. From coding toy to real code.
Can mBot Neo be programmed in Python?
Yes. Makeblock publishes three routes on the same robot: Scratch-style blocks, Python in mBlock, and Arduino C/C++ via the Arduino IDE. The CyberPi controller is a 240 MHz dual-core with 8 MB of flash and 8 MB of PSRAM.
How long does the mBot Neo battery last?
Makeblock publishes a built-in 2500 mAh LiPo, about one hour to charge and about five hours of play. The mBot Ranger's battery requirement is not published on the Makeblock pages we could read.
Which coding toy for a tween needs no batteries at all?
ThinkFun publishes Code Master as a single-player game with 60 levels from beginner to expert and no batteries. littleBits publishes its Electronics Inventor Kit as screen-free with 29 Bits, powered by a 9V battery with a USB power Bit also included.
How many parts does the mBot Ranger have?
Makeblock publishes about 100 parts across three build forms - a robot tank, a self-balancing robot and a racing car - with 10 expansion ports and published compatibility with 500+ Makeblock parts, LEGO bricks and Arduino.
Sources
Where these figures came from
Every specification on this page traces to one of these. If a manufacturer publishes nothing on a point, the page says so rather than filling the gap.
Read next
Where to go from here
Back to Coding & Robotics, or read how we pick.